Worm’d

I managed to pick up ave.exe last night.  Bad timing, big time, because it meant I couldn’t DJ today 😦

FORTUNATELY, it’s fixed now.  After running a virus scan all night (er, morning.  I suck at time!), then getting help from my usual tech support crew (and finding out that OneCare is being dropped and that they were supposed to have replaced it with the new Symantec already… *facepalm*), then finally retrying some slightly modified steps that Strangeleaf found… wow.  So that’s about 15 hours gone, with nothing to show for it.

So, I’m reposting what works in case this happens to come up while someone’s searching a fix.

3. Open up the registry (start > run > regedit)
4. Search for ave.exe
5. Remove any entries for ave.exe (ave.exe ONLY)
6. In the registry go to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.exe
7. Right Click (default) , modify
8. value = “exefile” (without the quotes & equal sign)
9. Reboot

This was found here, at the bottom.  I hadn’t changed permissions, so I could skip a few steps, and then it turned out that the file itself was hidden… and that’s REALLY hidden, since I’ve got my machine set to show hidden files.  But those steps worked.  FOR STEP 5, remove anything with ave.exe in the description–it was actually in something called “Default.”

Because of all this, I’m actually still in the land of crappy internet… so I can’t stream (I tested last night, and it hurt to listen to on the other computer here.  Shoutcast was only able to send data in huge chunks [like 10B versus 1B at a time], so it was skipping badly.)

But I’m back online and not terrified that my computer’s gonna destroy itself, so that’s a plus!

See ya in world~

Leave a comment